Wayne Horvitz 65th Birthday Bashes (Minus Two Pandemic Years): Electric Circus//Horvitz, Gebhart, Larsen, Harper Quartet

September 3, 2022 @ 8:00 pm
Wayne Horvitz 65th Birthday Bashes (Minus Two Pandemic Years): Electric Circus//Horvitz, Gebhart, Larsen, Harper Quartet

Doors: 7pm

Tickets: $18 advance, $23 doors

COVID PROTOCOLS: All our staff are fully vaccinated, and we ask that our patrons be vaccinated as well. Our staff will be masked, and we encourage our audience to wear masks as much as possible.

Advance tickets can only be purchased online-we do not sell advance tickets at the venue. Refunds are not available within 48 hours of the event. Tickets do not guarantee seating during shows at the Royal Room. Seating is first come first served. The Royal Room is All Ages until 10pm.

“The only positive thing about the pandemic is I can celebrate my 65th birthday when I’m actually turning 67”Wayne Horvitz. 

Wayne Horvitz is a composer, pianist and electronic musician who has performed extensively throughout Europe, Asia, Australia, and North America. He is the leader of the Gravitas Quartet, Sweeter Than the Day, Zony Mash, The Four plus One Ensemble and co-founder of the New York Composers Orchestra. He has performed and collaborated with Bill Frisell, Butch Morris, John Zorn, George Lewis, Robin Holcomb, Fred Frith, Julian Priester, Michael Shrieve and Carla Bley, among others. Commissioners include the NEA, Meet the Composer, Kronos String Quartet, Seattle Chamber Players, BAM, and Earshot Jazz. Collaborators include Paul Taylor, Liz Lerman, Bill Irwin and Gus Van Sant.  He is the music programmer for The Royal Room,  and a professor of composition at the Cornish College of the Arts.

Electric Circus remixes classic R&B, soul and rock for the 21st century with sampled grooves, improvised sonic exploration, light projections and reinventions of mid 20th century psychedelia. Featuring an all-star ensemble of Seattle’s finest musicians with Wayne Horvitz at the helm providing his own brand of conduction
Featuring: Kate Olson; Ray Larsen; Hans Teuber; Beth Fleenor; Neil Welch; Leanna Keith; Ayesha Brooks; Ryan Burns; Kathy Moore; Simon Henneman; Ivan Galvez; Greg Campbell; Andy Roth; Abbey Blackwell; Geoff Harper; Wayne Horvitz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *